Our Board

Our Board’s key purpose is to ensure that the Service and all of its entities are led, managed and controlled in a business like manner, yet understanding the complexities of the environment in which healthcare operates. Our Board is responsible for setting the direction of the Service and ensuring that our strategy is achieved in accordance with best practice and national policy. Our Board members act in a voluntary capacity in their roles as board members.

Niall McHugh

Chairman & Trustee

Niall McHugh is a Chartered Accountant and CEO of Pinemont Finance, a bridging finance company. Prior experience includes establishing an accountancy practice which he ran for 25 years as managing partner. Niall joined the Board of LauraLynn in 2013 and served as chair of the Finance and Operations Committee before becoming Chair of the Board in 2016. Niall is also a Trustee.

Angie Kinane

Board Member & Trustee

Angie Kinane is a Partner & Director of Q4 Public Relations. She is an experienced corporate and public affairs practitioner providing counsel and guidance to multinational and private companies, public bodies, representative organisations and non for profits.  A former member of the Reader’s Advisory Group of the National Library of Ireland she is a member of the Institute of Directors and of the Public Relations Institute of Ireland. She joined the Board of LauraLynn in January 2015.

Fiona McElligott

Board Member

Dr Fiona McElligott is a newly appointed Consultant in Paediatric Palliative Medicine (PPM) to Children’s Health Ireland at Temple Street, with liaison in reach to The Rotunda Hospital. She completed a diploma in paediatric palliative care in 2012, prior to pursuing sub-speciality GRID training in PPM in Yorkshire, UK. Prior to returning to Ireland, Fiona worked as a consultant in PPM in the National Health Service (UK), in association with Martin House Hospice for Children and Young People and Bluebellwood Children’s Hospice. She was an executive member of the Yorkshire and Humber Children’s Palliative Care Network as well as chair of its Education Subgroup. Fiona is also a member of the National Development Committee on Children’s Palliative Care. She joined the Board in 2019.

Headshot of Jacinta Quigley - LauraLynn Board Member

Board Member

Jacinta Quigley is the Director of EMEA Partner Business Operations at Microsoft. In this role, she enables partners in their operations with Microsoft, delivering on landing change with these partners, driving process optimization and operationalising go-to market strategies. Since joining Microsoft in 2001, Jacinta held a number of roles across engineering, business management, supply chain and operations. She is a big advocate for diversity and inclusion and is the sponsor for the newly formed women@microsoftireland employee resource group. Prior to joining Microsoft, Jacinta worked as a consultant with Accenture for three years. She has a master’s degree in Business Studies and a post-graduate diploma in IT both from Dublin City University. Jacinta joined the board in October 2020.

Kevin Keating

Board Member

Kevin Keating is currently a financial consultant. He is a chartered accountant who has worked directly in the financial services industry for over 28 years. He retired from Goodbody Stockbrokers at the end of 2016, having worked in Goodbody as a Director of Corporate Finance since 1996. Kevin joined the Board of LauraLynn in November 2017.

Kevin Murphy - Board

Board Member

Kevin Murphy is a volunteer with LauraLynn for more than 20 years. He initially joined The Children’s Sunshine Home as a volunteer with the adult Residential Disability Service and since then has volunteered in a range of operations and activities programmes. He is part of our reading programme, events team and also spent time working with our fundraising team promoting the service through school visits. Professionally, Kevin has a background in Commercial Sales & Marketing, having spent the last 36 years involved in the Irish Chemical & Pharmaceutical industry. He joined the Board of LauraLynn in August 2020.

Patricia Lawler

Board Member

Patricia Lawler qualified as a nurse at St Vincent’s Hospital and set up Scope Clinical Research Ltd a Contract Clinical Research Organisation in April 1993. Patricia is currently the Managing Director at Scope, an experienced professional with over 25 years’ experience in providing clinical research and training services in Ireland, The UK and Europe. Patricia is a member of the Institute of Directors obtaining a Certificate in company direction IoD 2016 (Hons) and Diploma in company direction IoD 2016.

Sandra O'Malley

Board Member

Sandra O’Malley is a healthcare consultant with a background in medical law and healthcare risk management. She is an experienced healthcare lawyer having previously practised in defense medical malpractice and having been Head of Legal Affairs of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. Sandra works with healthcare clients delivering consultancy services and training in relation to healthcare risk management. As an executive coach and emotional intelligence assessor, she also delivers coaching and mentoring services.

Tony McPoland

Board Member & Trustee

Tony McPoland worked for twenty five years in the financial services industry, and served ten years on the Board of Directors of LBBW Bank with executive responsibility for Finance, Operations, Risk and IT. He has become a professional independent Director and sits on the Boards of eleven companies including a regulated asset manager, a number of regulated funds, SME companies and non-profit organisations. He is Chairman of five of these Boards.  He is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland. He also completed the Advanced Management Programme in INSEAD, and The Institute of Director’s Diploma and Certificate in Company Direction. He joined the Board of LauraLynn in 2015.